Patient

Sara Khayat

I am metal.
My bones
broke and
mended
bent and
borrowed
woven
with titanium to
keep my spine
standing tall.

I am patient
swinging my legs
off the icy
exam table
as I absently
read the
posters lining
the walls.

I am transparent
X-Rayed and
displayed
along hallways of
doctors’
offices.

And I love them.
All of the people
brought together
by operating tables
spending their time
correcting my
spine and
placing the bones
in my ankle

Crying in waiting
rooms sleeping in
arm chairs
biting their nails
down to the skin
I love them.

All of the people
who felt by my
side wasn’t a bad
place to spend
their minutes, hours,
and
days.

View original post

Leave a Reply

