Glimmers of Winter

My “glimmers” as brought about by the weekly writing challenge

It was odd, I thought, that the church on the corner, built of dark red brick, was light tonight. Stained glass windows, lining the sides of the church had gold beams streaming out of them, into the darkness of the street next to them. Always I had seen this church dark, like the night and the city around it, I had never seen it with light.

I had seen it in the early morning, with its chipped white steeple standing upright like a sentry. Its windows were stark in their darkness, even if the sun was shining.

I had seen it at night, with its wooden front doors, with the  stoop full of shadows, where the homeless sat, flicking their ash on the stone steps.

Tonight I saw, for the first time, the gold and red tints in the windows, the outline of a tree through the first window, with the leaves golden yellow and the trunk golden brown and I wondered why did they design a tree in the glass?

The light shown out onto the sidewalk, catching the back of a man walking away wearing a dark hat, winter coat and red snow boots. His hands were in both of his pockets and his head was bent, and I still don’t know if it was because he was cold or because he was just not used to the light.

Earlier in the week I sat on a bench in the mall, and watched a girl walk by in a short black skirt and red, high, high heels. Her long bare legs were striding with purpose as she talked rapidly on her pink sequined cell phone. I sat, with my winter coat and hat and scarf still on, and warm boots firmly in place still trying to get warm after having to park two miles away from the mall and then hike in through the cold. I wondered-how did she get through the slushy parking lot and the chilly wind to the mall without dying of hypothermia? And I really wanted to ask her but she was gone and I wouldn’t have, anyway.

I remember the bright midnight that I saw, that same night coming home when the moon was shining so bright it was like the sun in Hawaii, except it was winter and the moon. The shadows that it caused, reflecting the trees on the hard white snow and hearing in my mind the song ” I go out walking after midnight.” The crunch of my boots on the snow walking to the house because it was so cold and realizing, that if it wasn’t eleven degrees I would go out walking, but instead I curled up under my blankets and slept, at peace because of the amazing moonlight that bathed my world in a silent glow.

Leave a Reply

